Department of Chemistry

Brown Chemistry Students place 1st and 2nd at the 2024 MIT iQuHACK

Brown University STEM@Brown teams place at MIT's iQuHack 2024!

Annually,  MIT iQuHack holds a multi-day event focused on learning what quantum computers are and how to use them. This year Brown University had twelve undergraduates and five graduate students participated in iQuHACK held February 2-4, 2024.

Brown University STEM undergraduate students, Jeffrey Tejada (Chemical Physics , 2025), Kevin Rapp (Chemical Physics, 2025) and Ishika Tulsian (Physics and CS, 2025), Team "Plankton" won 1st place in the QuEra challenge!

Team "Brown Quantum Initiative" won 2nd place in the Amazon challenge! On the team were Miles Miller-Dickson (Engineering PhD), Alan Bidart (Chemistry PhD), Junjie Zheng (Physics PhD), Lindsey Tensen (Physics PhD) and  Alexander Buzzi (Physics Masters)

Additionally, Four Brown Undergraduates won 1st place in the IonQ challenge! Team "fATCAT" included Tomas Dougan (Math, 2025) Cerulean Ozarow, (Applied Math, 2025), Tomoya Sasao, (Physics, 2026) and  Arin Idhant (CS, 2026) 

Only first and second prizes were given for each challenge. Brown placed in the Top 2 for 3 of the 7 challenges.

Congratulations to all the Brown students who attended and participated!